Wednesday, March 7, 2018

Review + Giveaway: Playing The Pauses


We are excited to celebrate the release of PLAYING THE PAUSES by Michelle Hazen. This is the second installment in her Sex, Love, and Rock & Roll series. Follow the tour for reviews, excerpts, guest posts, plus enter to win a $50 Amazon gift card!  

“Hazen’s use of the frantic energy of a rock band’s tour contrasts perfectly with the slow and seductive dance this couple engages in. Readers are sure to enjoy following The Red Letters on their drama-fueled climb to fame. “RT Book Reviews

“To call Playing the Pauses an erotic novel alone would be to belie its equally strong explorations of the boundaries between personal, career, and sexual growth.”Midwest Book Review


When an ultra-independent tour manager meets the one musician she can’t resist, their kinks fit together perfectly, but their lives don’t. Michelle Hazen is back with PLAYING THE PAUSES, the second, stand-alone installment in her Sex, Love, and Rock & Roll series. Fans of Kylie Scott’s Stage Dive Series and YOU REALLY GOT ME by Erika Kelly, will love this bad boy, friends with benefits romance with a dash of BDSM mixed in.

Playing the Pauses by Michelle Hazen
Release Date: March 5, 2018
Publisher: Self-published
Series: Sex, Love, and Rock & Roll #2
Genres: Contemporary Romance
Page Count: 290


Rock Star Dom + his Queen of the Spreadsheet employee = KRYPTONITE

Kate is a globe-trotting tour manager who can’t be tied down.
Danny is a Dominant rock star and tattoo artist who needs her help to explore his true kinks.

Kate just got her big break, running an international tour for a rising band. Her job is everything to her…at least until she meets the band’s enigmatic bass player.

After they collide in one unforgettably erotic night on a hotel balcony, he comes to her with a proposition. As a former BDSM club performer, Danny’s spent so long fulfilling other people’s fantasies that now he wants to reclaim his own—and he says she’s the only one who can help.

Getting caught in bed with her rock star boss could cost her career, and yet there’s something about Danny’s quiet intensity that she can’t resist. He steals her heart, hard. But the end of the tour is approaching, and their jobs are headed two different directions.

To be together one of them will have to stop touring, but the only thing they crave as much as each other is music.

** This book can be read and understood as a standalone, but does contain spoilers for earlier books in the series. **

Playing the Pauses is the perfect combination of Hot, angst and Rock & Roll! I couldn’t putting down.

Kate is a young tour manager, she loves the music and is essential to bring it to the stages all over the world. Danny is bassist of an up coming band, with the world at his feet.

I can explain how much I loved these two from the start and what a roller coaster of a book this is.

Kate is the kind of girl I want as a BFF  . Forget boy scouts, she’s ready for anything, from baby wipes to drugs, whatever her musician needs she’s got it on her purse. She’s strong and independent. Loves music and life on the road.

Danny is the quiet type. He cares for everyone around him, deeply, but he doesn’t show it. But is his slient strengh Danny is just as lost as everyone else, trying to find himself while figuring put how to navigate his band’s new found fame.

I really love how the two of them come together. Both are natural caretakers, putting everyone needs before their own. After one passionate night, Kate agrees to help Danny find what he’s missing in his sex life while indulging herself in her wilder taste.

The book is beautifully written. The steamy scenes are poetry! To have someone describe the bdsm scenes is such a raw and emotional way without being crude is something you don’t find in every book. And I was really surprised at how well the author manage to show so much vulnerability in those scenes.

Playing the Pauses is a jorney. Kate and Danny are trying to find themselves and figuring out their place in a constanct moving world. They fot togather perfectly but it doesn’t come without some bumps.
I couldn’t puy it down but I didn’t want it to end.

The secondary characters are a great addition and help the story move forward. Each band member and roadie is different and full of life. And even the music is a character that demands the reader’s attention.  As a music lover and fan of rock I felt so intuned with the descriptions, not just about the music but about the feeling of being in a concert.

This is the second book in the series but can be read as a stand alone (I did) but after meeting Kate and Danny and the rest of the crew you’ll crace for more!


Buy Now: Amazon | iBooks | B&N | Kobo

Enter to win a $50 Amazon Gift Card + A CRUEL KIND OF BEAUTIFUL eBooks! 

a Rafflecopter giveaway

About Michelle Hazen

Michelle Hazen is a nomad with a writing problem. Years ago, she and her husband ducked out of the 9 to 5 world and moved into their truck. As a result, she wrote most of her books with solar power in odd places, including a bus in Thailand, a golf cart in a sandstorm, and a beach in Honduras. Currently, she’s addicted to The Walking Dead, hiking, and Tillamook cheese.

1 comment:

  1. This is such a lovely review-I'm so glad you enjoyed the book and hope you'll check out the rest of the series. Thanks for hosting my release!

    ReplyDelete